Child Molestation Charges Defense
Houston Child Molesting Attorneys :: The Law Office of Matthew D. Sharp
Child molestation charges are taken seriously in the United States. This is especially true in the state of Texas. Even if a molestation accusation is false or malicious in nature, just being associated with a sex crime investigation can destroy a suspect’s reputation and livelihood. Maybe it’s wrong, but people just tend to shy away from any friend, family member or professional associate who is unexpectedly linked to a sex crimes case. The assistance of a compassionate child molestation lawyer from the very beginning of a criminal investigation is vital.
False Child Molesting Charges
Unfortunately, false allegations of sex crimes are all too common. A false children molestation allegation can be difficult to disprove since the testimony of a young child often holds the key to guilt or innocence. Moreover, educators, professional therapists and prosecutors find great satisfaction in helping to convict a child molester. The following situations often lead to false accusations of molesting children:
- Divorce and child custody disputes
- Children looking for attention
- An attempt to have a spouse or significant other removed from the home
- Confusion arising from sex education classes or the suggestions of other children
Penalties for Molesting Children
Penile penetration or intercourse are not required for a defendant to be convicted of molestation of children. Touching a child inappropriately in any way, even through the child’s clothing, can constitute molestation of a minor. Additionally, exposing children to a sexual act or pornography can be interpreted as a sexual offense in Texas. It’s easy to imagine how the confluence of false or inaccurate statements, biased interpretations and unfounded assumptions can lead to criminal charges and time in prison. Understandably, everyone wants to protect the children and punish every known pedophile.
Society’s intolerance of sexual abuse of children is completely justified, but it’s also true that many criminal defendants are sitting in a Texas prison right now because they were improperly convicted of child abuse crimes. Consider this partial list of potential penalties:
- Second-degree felony: Up to 20 years in state prison
- First-degree felony: Up to 99 years in state prison for a child molestation conviction involving a weapon or force
Speak to a Child Molestation Charges Attorney in Houston, TX
All witnesses, testimony and evidence must be thoroughly investigated and scrutinized. If criminal charges are forthcoming, a Houston molesting attorney may be able to have the charges reduced or dismissed altogether. The lawyer will ensure that the prosecution is required to prove their case beyond a reasonable doubt. To schedule a free case evaluation, reach out to The Law Office of Matthew D. Sharp today.